Posted on

The Nature Conservancy Messenger Bag

Normally I just throw away all of the random inserts that say “please donate to our cause and we will send you things, but really it’s about you helping out with *insert cause here*.” Normally I don’t think twice about doing so. Back in March, The Nature Conservancy sent me free address labels, which I will always happily use, but won’t buy, because – jeez, my fingers aren’t broken, I can write out my address myself.

This time, they were sneaky. Let me start out by saying this – I hate purses. Up until about four months ago, I didn’t carry a purse unless I was dressing up fancy, which didn’t happen often. I was, and still am at heart, a wallet on a chain girl. If it can’t fit into my pockets and isn’t a book, I don’t need it. But I also did not want to keep carrying around a giant diaper bag when diapers just were not needed anymore. So, I switched to a purse. And in that purse were toddler clothes (in case of accident – spill or otherwise), snacks, juice pouches, my wallet, sans chain, bandaids, neosporin, chap stick, kleenex, napkins, and the general mom detrius. “This is how it starts,” I thought to myself.

View full review

Posted on

Blue Spider’s Attic June 2017 box review

Blue Spider’s Attic was a new subscription box for me last month. I became immediately enamored with it and I have to consistently stop myself from ordering another one time box – I typically go and look at their store several times a week – I kid you not! I am trying very hard to behave. This was my second month getting their subscription box, and I am hooked. Totally and completely hooked.

The box is $21.99 with $7 shipping. The tagline for the company is “The magic of a used bookstore, delivered.”

View full review

Posted on

Stars Hollow Monthly May 2017 Review

Stars Hollow Monthly is done through Lit-Cube.

The cost is $34.90 a month (including shipping).

You get three to five Stars Hollow – aka Gilmore Girls – themed items a month.

I had just restarted my subscription when they announced that they would be using a fulfillment company again. There have been attempts with using a fulfillment company in the past, but those attempts have always resulted in issues, and typically ending in my cancellation of my subscription. I decided to wait to see what would happen, instead of just going off of past experience and cancelling straight away. The boxes were late shipping out. Very late. The owner went on vacation out of the country, and still the boxes were late going out. When they finally did go out, on May 31st, several weeks after when they were supposed to….subscribers were notified that in addition to being late, there would be no tracking provided.

View full review

Posted on

Dolly Parton Imagination Library June 2017

For those of you who are not aware of the program, Dolly Parton (yes, the singer/ actress) wanted to increase the number of children reading without the children, or their parents, having to worry about book access. She started the Imagination Library as a result. You have to be in the USA, the UK, CA, or AU to participate in the program. Your child must be under the age of five to participate, and you have to fill out the forms for each child in the house, but that’s it. The signup process takes about 10 minutes, and it can take up to two months to get added to the list to start receiving books. This is the third month we have received a book for the littlest one, and I signed her up in January when I heard about the program.

View full review

Posted on

Lit-Cube May 2017 review

Lit-Cube is $35.94 per month. It’s a literary subscription box. You get a book and various bookish goodies, all based around a theme.

May’s theme was Robin Hood. Except it’s female Robin Hood. Still, I liked the spoiler, a t-shirt, and I was already subscribed, even if I was iffy on the theme. The box shipped late – they’re using a fulfillment company again. And again there were issues, but we will get to that. For now –

On to the box!

As they’re back to using a fulfillment company, it looks like they’re going back to the original box style. If you’re one for fancy boxes, this fits the bill. It’s quite durable and nothing got damaged in transit, even though the box was dinged up.

View full review

Posted on

J. K. Rowling’s Wizarding World May 2017 review

J. K. Rowling’s Wizarding World is a bi-monthly (every other month) subscription box. You can use this link to receive a discount on your subscription.

The reviews of past boxes have been hit or miss for me, but I figured I would try it at least once. I signed up in February, but I missed the cut off to receive the March box and ended up with the May box instead. That was a particularly long wait. Unfortunately, I think it wasn’t worth it. I ended up cancelling my subscription, but I’m still going to share the goodies and the reasons with you.

View full review

Posted on

The Book(ish) box May 2017 review

The Book(ish) Box is done by Appraising Pages. The Book(ish) Box is the monthly subscription box, while Appraising Pages, the company, also puts out individual one time boxes through their site. This is a review of the May subscription box. Last month I changed over to the women’s box, with accessories, with shirt, with adult book option. This is the first month that there has been an adult book option. I was quite excited!

The theme for this month was “Mean Girls,” technically based off of the movie, but ostensibly based off of the book Queen bees and Wannabes which is what the movie was based on.

View full review

Posted on

Geek Fuel May 2017 Box Review

Geek Fuel is a subscription box full of items based around different geek fandoms. Each month you get a magazine, a pin with their robot logo dressed up as a different character, a t-shirt, a Steam game, and two or three other items. Lots of loot in other words.

The box is $24.90 per month, shipping included. Two months ago they said they were going to raise their price by one dollar due to the higher quality t-shirts being sent, but I have yet to see my price change. Just note that you may have the higher price upon sign up, but if you use the above link you will get a discount on sign up.

View full review

Posted on

Bookcase.club Strange Worlds May 2017

Bookcase.club is a fantastic subscription box. It is a monthly book subscription service. Each month you get two books in the genre of your choosing for $9.95 plus shipping. It’s $13.95 including shipping here to TN. If you recall, I used to get both the Strange Worlds and the Thrill Seekers boxes. Last month I just got the Thrill Seeker’s box, and I was going to hold off for a little while until I got caught up on my TBR pile. Then they sent out a spoiler email saying that Ernest Cline’s Armada would be in the Strange Worlds case and Girl on a Train was the spoiler for the Thrill Seekers box. I’ve had Armada on my wish list for months, ever since a friend recommended it to me, and I just hadn’t gotten around to purchasing it – so many books, so little time! Well, after less than a five minute internal debate, I reactivated my subscription for Strange Worlds, excited that I would get the book finally and knowing that it came with another one!

View full review

Posted on

Hamilton Shirt by The Book(ish) Box

The Book(ish) box is a relatively new box for me, and as a result, I missed their musicals themed box earlier this year. They have a group, a wonderful group called The Bookish Chats on Facebook where people are given a forum to buy, sell, and trade subscription box items – but only those that are bookish.

One of the members was selling the Hamilton shirt, and it happened to be in my size, and so I jumped at the chance.

Having never grabbed a shirt through the box before this point, I was just hopeful that the M was going to be true to size, and it was! The woman’s medium fits like a normal shirt from the 1990s. No wonky sizing! You don’t know how much I appreciate this. Or maybe you do since you’ve been reading my antics about the difficulties associated with shirt size changes because of weird sizing – and then companies (but not this one!) sending the wrong sizes even after you make changes. Blech. Anyway, back to the amazing job done by The Book(ish) box. Hint: You can buy past items here. Not everything’s on their Appraising Pages site, but anything that isn’t you can generally find a nice person with one to sell, like I did.

View full review